No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner question for Differential Expression Analysis

Hello,

I am a beginner in analyzing data from an RNA seq experiment. I was not the one performing the bioinformatics analysis (I am more of a bench scientist). So, I have an excel file in my hands. I am a bit confused though with how to retrieve my DE genes.
    I have read what p and q values represent. I have understood that setting an FDR value threshold is a 'safe' choice in order to identify whether the significant differences recorded are truly significant.

I am a bit confused though with choosing the FDR threshold. If I understand correctly the level of 0.05 does not apply to all experiments.

Could you please refer me to some further reading, or perhaps provide me with some tips, so that I proceed correctly with my analysis?

I apologize if this is a very basic question. I appreciate your help.

Regards
    Vassen

The raw p-values in your results are still what they are - at a per-gene level given the dispersion models of the expression values in conditions that gene has a low probability of NOT being deferentially expressed. Statistical reality, however, shows us that when we repeatedly run a statistical test between two groups of values that DO come from the same distribution (say split 20 values with a mean of 10 and stdev of 5 into two random groups) we will see 5% or so of those tests return a significant p-value. So given the large number of genes we are testing people theorize that there's a measurable effect of type I error.