No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DESeq Count Tables Prep

Hi,

I'm new to almost all of this - R, DESeq, bioinformatics etc... (obviously a bench biologist).

I've been given a count table from an alignment run with a custom Perl script that is a tab delimited text file. The header includies the ContigID title, and each sample name, and then each row contains the contig number, and the counts for each sample.

How do I use this as the count file for DESeq? Can I import it as a tab delim. txt file, or do I have to change it into a file that is readable by DESeq?

I just want to be able to get to the point where I can walk through the DESeq vignette on R with my own data.

Thanks

An addition to my post:

So I've uploaded the txt file successfully as a read.table, and uploaded library(DESeq) and am now trying to get my file to be the countsTable, and this is where I'm running into problems. My R code:

> countsTable <- counts( myFile )
    Error in function (classes, fdef, mtable) :
    unable to find an inherited method for function "counts", for signature "data.frame"

How do I make my read.table file (i.e. the uploaded tab delim. txt file) to act as the countsTable?

Thanks

Comment

Have you tried the newCountDataSet() function? It should work if your file that you imported with read.table() is in the correct format, which it may very well be from your description. You're not supposed to use the counts() function in this case - I think that's just a way to extract counts from a pre-existing CountDataSet object, which you don't have.

Comment

Ok - so I tried the newCountDataSet() function with the imported read.table() and I received the following error:
        Error in round(countData) : Non-numeric argument to mathematical function

This is everything that I've input so far:
        > fullmoonDN <- read.table("filelocation",header=TRUE,sep="\t")
        > conds <- factor( c("AM0008","AM0009") )