Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Allpaths-LG help

Hello. Where can I find some simple test data other than test.genome for ALLPATHS-LG? Their test genome worked fine but I have an assignment to assemble something else. Part of the assignment is to find data myself.
    I went to their ftp://ftp.broadinstitute.org/pub/ but I'm kind of lost there.
    I need something small and simple to assemble if possible, as I'm a newbie student.
    Thank you so much.
    Duf

The Short Read Archive has *tons* of free sequence data available:

If you can assembly anything, go for a microbial or viral genome.

Comment

Thanks for your quick reply. These are sra files and I need to convert them, right? How do I know which organism it is? They seem to have names like
      DRR000558

For example here:
      ftp://ftp-trace.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sra...279/DRR000558/
      Or am I completely wrong?

Comment

Use the search tab if you're looking for something in particular. If you want to assemble the Illumina control sequence data, search for phi X and you'll find data like this:

I realize that Allpaths-LG is for large genomes, so maybe you want to go after a eukaryotic genome instead? You can browse by experiment type, etc. I urge you to poke around a bit.

Comment

Thanks! that's a good starting point for me.
          I'll try tomorrow one of them at school.

Comment

To answer your other question, you'll download the .sra or .sralite file for the run, and you'll likely need to install and run fastq-dump to convert the data to FASTQ. More information on that can be found here:

Comment

Hello,