No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting up and downregulated genes in cummeRbund

Hi folks,

I've been getting a lot of awsers from this forum when I searched Google for many bioinformatics questions I had. I wonder if you guys could help me with this one.

I've run cuffdiff and I managed to get a bit done in cummeRbund (i'm totally new to R..). Now, I've been able to get the differentially expressed genes with this line :

mySigGenes <- getSig(cuff, alpha = 0.05, level = "genes")

However, I want to further split this group in upregulated and downregulated genes, either using the raw fpkm or the log2 numbers..

Can we do that?

Thanks!

Anyone?

Is this only an "R" language issue that I can't seem to understand?

Comment

Hi Galgarad,
      I need a similar thing and what I have done (it might be wrong) was first to extrapolate all the lanes which were significant. I shall say I am doing all this on excel.
      I then sorted the values for my normal sample from the highest to the smallest and in this way I could see the downregulated genes in the treated sample.
      I then did the opposite, I sorted the treated sample the same way, so that I could visualise the overexpressed genes. in both cases, when u sort in excel one column, those close to it are arranged as well (you can choose not to , but you do want it).

I shall say that I dont know if this a proper way: one rule I put (a former phd student in my lab did) was to consider FPKM values above 200, in this way i did not have many genes to consider. I am new to R, and still waitingto have unix/linux access to download all necessary packages. hope it helps.

a quick question in case anyone can answer@ above which fpkm value do we consider a gene/transcript over expressed or not?I used this value of 200, but i do not have any evidence for this

Thanks
      irene

Comment

Hi Galgarad,