Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HTseq without reference genome

I'm new to RNA-Seq analysis and have Illumina HiSeq paired-end reads (100bp) from plant samples. I would like to get a count of read abundance on the isoform as well as gene level and to proceed to DESeq for differential expression. I've been reading that HTseq is a suitable tool for obtaining read counts (as opposed to RSEM which gives estimates instead of actual counts).

My problem is that there is no reference genome for my plant species, and I notice that most examples for HTseq are for samples with reference genomes with known gene annotations. Can I still use HTseq for obtaining read count values if no reference genome is available?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

You can maybe use a genome of a related species and then perform an alignment (with tophat per example). After that you can extract the number of read per feature (gene, isoform,...) with htseq. After that use DESeq for differential expression analysis

Or you can use a de-novo approach. Assemble de-novo the transcriptome of the plant ( with trinity, oases,...) . Align your reads against the transcriptome. extract the read count for each transcript. perform differential expression analysis with DESeq (or edgeR)

Comment

Much thanks for your advice.

The second approach is what I'm doing now. However, I'm not sure how to extract the read count for each transcript, since some of the reads are multi-mapped. I know there's RSEM which works for transcriptomes without a reference.. but from what I've been reading, RSEM output is not so suitable as DESeq input since the read counts are only estimates.

Does anyone know of any other programs which can give me read counts without references other than RSEM?

Comment

Hi guys,

I have similar situation with what mht has.
        Could anyone fix this problem?

Thanks.

Regards,

Senhao

Originally posted by mht View Post