Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems transferring annotations with RATT

Im fairly new to bioinformatics, and I've been having significant trouble using RATT as part of the PAGIT set of tools, and was hoping to find some help here, as I could not find any links to support options provided by the developers on the RATT page: http://ratt.sourceforge.net/index.html

At this point I would be happy just to find such a support option

What I have is the reference yeast mitochondrial genome, along with its features, and the mitochondrial genome for another strain assembled from PacBio reads. My goal is to transfer the annotations from the reference onto the newly assembled genome. Doing a few alignments of just the primary exons (there are very few) of the reference confirmed for me that these sequences are present and in good synteny between the two.

RATT documentation:

Yeast mitochondrial translation table: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Taxonomy...cgi?mode=c#SG3

Checking the RATT documentation, I set up a config file that looks like this:
    #START
    ATA
    ATG
    #STOP
    TAA
    TAG
    #SPLICE
    GT..AG
    #CORRECTSPLICE

I am unaware if RATT is accounting for other codon differences, but these were the only parameters I saw specified for the config in the documentation, and am uncertain if I should have specified additional parameters to account for those differences

Next I set the RATT_HOME and RATT_CONFIG variables as described in the documentation, and then tried to execute start.ratt.sh.

I've uploaded the embl file here: http://pastebin.com/bm6wS69u The reference sequence was correctly named with the fasta header being the same as the name of the embl file.

This is what I ran, and the results:
    jwolter1@bravo:~/PAGIT/PAGIT/RATT$ RATT_HOME=/home/jwolter1/PAGIT/PAGIT/RATT; export RATT_HOME