Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SAM file without a header. Can't convert to BAM

Hi, guys! I'm a complete noobie in computational staff and just trying to learn thing. I want to convert SAM file to BAM and my SAM file does not have a header.
    So, I goggle the problem and found one possible solution with -t options from samtools. I created the reference.fa.fai with
    Code:
    samtools faidx reference.fa
    command and then tried to run

Code:
    samtools view -Sb sam.file -t reference.fa.fai  >  bam.file
    However, I'm getting the error message

Code:
    [sam_header_read2] 35 sequences loaded.
    Parse error at line 2: missing colon in auxiliary data
    /var/spool/sge//node091/job_scripts/1441097: line 10: 19514 Aborted                 (core dumped) samtools view -Sb $in_file.sam -t /$
    I've tried to use advices from here http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9650, but still keep getting the same error message.

Please, help!

Maybe try ReplaceSamHeader in Picard http://picard.sourceforge.net/comman...placeSamHeader
    Petri Dish Talk

Comment

Try googling/duckducking your error message ...
      "missing colon in auxiliary data"

See previous discussions:
      Discussion of next-gen sequencing related bioinformatics: resources, algorithms, open source efforts, etc

Discussion of next-gen sequencing related bioinformatics: resources, algorithms, open source efforts, etc

Sounds like "aux" means the stuff after QUAL(quality filed) in a SAM line (i.e. a text version of the bam record).
      (See line 367 of samtools-0.1.18/bam_import.c ). There's probably invalid OPT (aux) data. That is, the additional annotation information is not properly formatted. Some extra data got a colonectomy or something. (sorry). Just cut out all of the the OPT (aux) data if you don't need it ... something like this ...

cat original.sam | cut -f1-12 > new.tmp.sam

or somesuch.

Comment