No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowtie settings and SAM to GFF

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to bioinformatics so I will probably start asking a lot of questions on here. Hopefully in time I'll be able to start answering some as well.

I have two connected questions:

Question 1:
    I'm trying to align siRNAs to a genome using Bowtie. I have created the index for the genome and have aligned the siRNAs of the various files numerous times with different settings. My question is what settings would be ideal to use for the sequences I'm trying to align? I've tried different ones and all have given me a variable number of output alignments. Is there a good standard set of alignment parameters for these siRNAs?

The files to be aligned contain thousands of sequences in FASTA format and are around 16-24 base pairs long.

I've been using this command lately:
    bowtie -t -p 2 (genome index) -f -a -v 0 (FASTA file to align) --sam-nosq (output file)

Question 2:
    My end goal is to create three column BED files (chromosome, start position, and stop position) for the alignments using the output of Bowtie. What would be the best way to go about doing this? I've been trying to find one, but have been unsuccessful.

Thanks,
    Brandon

Hi Brandon,

have a look at the Vancouver short read package

In this directory
    VancouverShortR-4.0.7/conversion_util

you ll find
    BowtieToBedFormat.jar

It worked very nicely for me.

Colin

Comment

Colin,

Thank you so much for the recommendation. I've been trying to get it to work, but I've been experiencing problems. I was wondering if you have experienced this? Looks like something is wrong with my Java, but it is installed and working.

bldf2b@kc-bio-bsb319debian:~/Desktop/VancouverShortR-4.0.10/conversion_util$ java -jar BowtieToBedFormat.jar -input /home/bldf2b/Desktop/rdr6.map -output /home/bldf2b/Desktop/ -name testfile