Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IUPAC coded reference sequences

I'm just getting started, so hopefully this isn't a silly post.

Mosaik and some other aligners are able to use IUPAC codes in their alignment process.

I was wondering if there are any publicly available whole genome reference sequences available that contain the IUPAC codes for known SNPs. If not, I was curious if there are any applications that can apply these codes via data from dbSNP, etc., or if I would be better off coding something to handle this.

Thanks!

Originally posted by data View Post
    I'm just getting started, so hopefully this isn't a silly post.

Mosaik and some other aligners are able to use IUPAC codes in their alignment process.

I was wondering if there are any publicly available whole genome reference sequences available that contain the IUPAC codes for known SNPs. If not, I was curious if there are any applications that can apply these codes via data from dbSNP, etc., or if I would be better off coding something to handle this.

Thanks!
    A quick perl script from your local bioinformatician should be able to handle the generation of a IUPAC reference from dbsnp. How will you deal with indels in dbsnp?

Comment

I've been looking into scripting my own solution, but I ran across what appears to be a good place to start:

I don't have a good answer about how to represent indels in the reference sequence.

Comment

Data,

SNPmask should work fairly well. Obviously this is a moving target with new dbSNP/1000g releases.

I've been thinking of establishing some modified IUPAC reference sequences and posting them eventually.

You may want to also see: "An extended IUPAC nomenclature code for polymorphic nucleic acids" Bioinformatics 2010 26(10):1386-1389; doi:10.1093/bioinformatics/btq098

Comment

The use of a reference genome that includes IUPAC codes for known relatively frequent variants in an alignment is an elegant idea.