No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bowtie mapping

Hello,

This is my first time to use bowtie and have trouble with running it and interpreting the output.

Below is the command I used.
    bowtie index -f fastafile > output

The number of reads with at least one reported alignment is less than 1%. Please help me if there is anyway that I can try to improve it. Thanks.

Try blasting a few of the reads that don't map and see what pops up. It's unusual in this day and age to see someone mapping a fasta file, is this old data?

Comment

Thanks for q quick respond.
      No, it is not old data. It was generated from Illumina Hiseq. I convert fastq files to fasta file to reduce size of the dataset. Sounds like quality information of fastq files affects bowtie mapping? In that case, should I use fastq files? Thanks again.

Comment

Yes, use the fastq files. Also, use the quality information to perform quality trimming (trim adapters while you're doing that). Have a look at trimmomatic or trim_galore if you're unfamiliar with trimming reads.

Comment

Thanks.

I used quality information for quality trimming. Before assembly, I transformed fastq files to fasta files. Could you explain a bit why fastq files is more useful than fasta for bowtie mapping? In the meanwhile let me try mapping with fastq files.

Comment

Ah, so you're trying to map against a reference that you assembled with these same reads? I'm surprised that that yielded such a poor result.