Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blast2GO Beginner's Question

Hi everybody, I'm new in NGS. I used the flow STAR/Cufflinks/Cuffcompare and now i need annotate my transcripts, and I decided to use Blast2GO because it seems more intuitive.
    But not so totaly intuitive for a total beginner like me, and I don't know what fashion of blast I should perform. The basic version of program allow me to use this methods:

QBlast@NCBI. NCBI o ers a public service that allows searching molecular sequence
    databases with the BLAST algorithm. The main advantages of making use of this service
    are its versatility and that no database maintenance is required. Therefore by selecting
    this option at Blast2GO no additional installations have to be done.

Remote BLAST. Blast2GO will download the latest BLAST+ executable form NCBI and
    will use it to query NR or other databases remotely.

Local BLAST against own database. It is possible to use BLAST+ excuteble to query a
    local/own database.

WWW-BLAST. Alternatively, BLAST can be done locally against a custom database. For
    this, you need to place a copy of your FASTA formatted custom DB plus a WWW-BLAST
    installation on a local BLAST server and indicate Blast2GO their location.

My fasta have 16450 sequences, and I want to use database NCBI NR Full, I have a i7 3770 8gb ram computer.

So the question is: with this resources what is the most safe and easy way to Blast ?

Do this locally. Download the nr database and use BLASTX against it.

BUT, it is MUCH faster if you use mpiBLAST on a cluster.

The command for mpiBLAST (with the correct flags for B2GO) is something like:

mpiblast -p blastx -d nr -i input.fa -v 20 -b 20 -I T -e 0.001 -m 7 -o output.xml

Comment

Originally posted by cement_head View Post
      Do this locally. Download the nr database and use BLASTX against it.

BUT, it is MUCH faster if you use mpiBLAST on a cluster.