Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowtie - What am I missing here?

Ok so I am a newbie here, so please bear with me. I am trying out Bowtie. And following the manual and I issue the command as it is in the manual (I just removed the --suppress 1,5,6,7 to make all the columns visible.

./bowtie -a -v 2 e_coli -c ATGCATCATGCGCCAT

The first two lines of the output are as follows...

0 - gi|110640213|ref|NC_008253.1| 148810 ATGGCGCATGATGCAT IIIIIIIIIIIIIIII 0 10:A>G,13:C>G
    0 - gi|110640213|ref|NC_008253.1| 2852852 ATGGCGCATGATGCAT IIIIIIIIIIIIIIII 0 8:T>A

If I am reading this right, it found matches on the negative reference strand, with TWO mismatches on the first result (10:A>G,13:C>G). But when I look at the alignments closely,

Test - ATGCATCATGCGCCAT
    Result 1 - ATGGCGCATGATGCAT

I see mismatches at position 4,5,6,11,12,13.

Same thing with result TWO

Test - ATGCATCATGCGCCAT
    Result 1 - ATGGCGCATGATGCAT

Bowtie says ONE mismatch in position 8, while I see mismatches in positions 4,5,6,11,12,13

What AM I missing here? Please apologize for relative ignorance of the question.
    Thanks
    Quantrix

If the match is to the negative strand, you probably need to take the reverse complement of one of your sequences. With that being said, it looks to me like your "Test" and "Result 1" are in fact identical taking the reverse complement, so there would be no mismatches rather than two.

Comment

Dear Kopi,
      You are right, in fact, I did the reverse complement for BOTH the sequences and they are exactly the same. So does this mean when Bowtie outputs the results, it DOES NOT output the actual result sequences? (And merely outputs the TEST sequence?)

I do not know. I am more confused than ever. Can someone clarify this for me please?
      Thank you
      Q

Comment