No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for advice on bacterial de novo genome sequencing

Hi all,

I want to obtain the complete genome sequences of three closely related bacterial strains in order to identify genes involved in toxin metabolism.

We have a reference genome of the type strain, which consists of a single (unannotated) contig of about 2.8 Mb.

So far the most cost effective solution seems to be a partial throughput run on a HiSeq using 2x100 bp reads. The service provider I've talked to tells me that they can do this for $700 per sample. This should correspond to about 1-2 Gb per sample, which means several hundred x coverage.

The price is right but I'm unsure if short Illumina reads are going to present problems when we try to assemble the genomes, even with such high coverage. I have no experience with genome assembly, so I am hoping people here might be able to share their experience and tell me if they think we should be looking at alternative platforms to get longer reads for assembly.

Edit: I realised too late that my title says 'de novo'. This is not really the case as we have a reference genome. The accuracy of this reference is an unknown quantity however.
    Last edited by coralnerd; 07-25-2013, 09:59 PM.

If you really need to do genome assembly, I'd look into what PacBio data would cost. That seems ideally suited to bacterial genome assembly but I have no experience with it yet, I've just been eagerly awaiting that technology.

My experience with assembling Illumina reads has not been very successful. Many assemblers are fine for contigs of a few kb to tens of kb, but nothing approaching full genome assembly automatically. This might be good enough to see if there are new genes not represented in the type strain though.