No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can paired-end mates overlap?

Hi all,

I am pretty new to NGS and have a quick question. Can the two mates in a paired-end pair overlap each other, such as in the illustration below:

Insert: <---------------------------------------------------------->
    Read1: <-------------------------------|......................................
    Read2: ...................................|--------------------------------->

I have so far thought that could not be possible but I have seen some such instances from a dataset I am currently looking at.

Thanks

Yes, they can. This happens when the insert is shorter than (2*read length), as in your picture.

Comment

As said; yes they can! Though i think your figure should be this for paired-ends (orientation issue, if you sequence with Illumina);

Fragment: <---------------------------------------------------------->
      Read1 : ------------------------------->|......................................
      Read2 : ..........................|<---------------------------------
      Overlap: ..........................*****................................

The overlap depends on the fragment size and the number of cycles you sequence. If you have fragments of 250bp, you'll never get an overlap between the two reads, unless both reads are larger than 125bp (should be more to be able to find the actual overlap).

There are tools to do this too, see this thread;

Regards,
      Boetsie

Comment

Thank boetsie and kopi-o for your great answers

MD

Comment

keep in mind that some mappers handle those paired end like single end!

Comment

Okay, I think the nomenclature used here is confusing.