No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNA-seq: reference genome of another species

Hi,

I am running tophat and cufflink of dog RNA-seq data using human reference genome. I got very few genes. I got a lot more genes using canine reference genome.

I know I will probably have to relax some parameters in alignment step etc.
    has anyone here done this before? Could you please give me some advice?

thanks

If you have a canine reference genome, why are you trying to align to the human reference genome? It really makes no sense to do this.

That being said, I have a lot of experience of aligning to non-reference genomes, particularly in the Brassica's where until recently I did not have a reference. You can increase mapping by relaxing some of the parameters, but it will also create a lot of problems in the quality of your mapping, resulting in more multi-mapped genes. The approach I typically use is to align in multiple steps. I will first align everything using very stringent settings, extract the unmapped reads, and realign those at slightly relaxed settings. Repeat again, again relaxing the settings.

Since there are a lot of Brassica varieties that can differ considerably, even within the same species, I have also taken the approach of doing an initial mapping and then call variants. I then use those variants to create a consensus genome sequence for each variety using GATK's alternative reference maker. I'll then realign back to this and obtain much better mapping. However this approach I have only used for highly divergent varieties within the same species and would probably not recommend it for such divergent species as humans and dogs.

Comment

thanks for your input. I agree with you except human genome is much better annotated than dogs. There is a benefit for doing that if it works.