Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to use Scythe in order to cut adapter sequences?

I read the manual and it says how you need a fasta file as an input?

I am looking at the overrepresented sequences in the FASTQC files of my paired end reads, but I don't see an option in Scythe in order to remove them this way.

How can I do this?

You need a fasta file of your adapter sequences, which will depend on the library preps you did, as well as any barcodes you added. What chemistry did you use and what was the sequencing platform?

Also, you will most likely have to change the quality scoring to match your fastq files (for instance, with '-q 33' if you used the newest Illumina pipeline).

Comment

I'm a biologist/computer scientist, not a chemist.

The sequencing platform was Sanger.

The minimum quality score should be 20, but i don't know how to specify this from the program. The minimum base pair length should be 50 and i dont know how to specify this either.

Comment

There are no adapters in Sanger sequencing for you to trim (they're used in next-gen sequencing).

BTW, have a look at Lucy, which I recall being commonly used to quality trim Sanger sequencing (It's been a few years since I've done Sanger sequencing).
        Last edited by dpryan; 10-08-2013, 12:38 PM. Reason: Add link to Lucy

Comment

I agree with Devon that Lucy would work for what you want (I think it uses Phred scores, so you'd need those).

Like Devon said, you don't have adapters in Sanger sequencing. You might have primer sequences on the very ends of your sequences that you can trim, but those would be specific to the region you're amplifying.