No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filtering differentially expressed genes with CummeRbund

Hi,

I am new to RNA-seq analysis and I am trying to analysis some data by the tuxedo pipeline.

My samples are control cells and cells with siRNA treatment, each with 4 replicates so 8 samples in total. There are ~40 million reads in each sample. After running these data through cuffdiff, it generates a list of ~9000 genes that are differentially expressed significantly. I went through the list and found that a lot of them have extremely low FPKM value (less than 0.1) and very low fold changes (less than 1.3).

So I have been filtering these with an arbitrary threshold of FPKM>2 and fold change>1.5. I did that in excel and that got me about 900 genes left. My question is that how can I do that in cummeRbund so that I can plot heatmap and other plots with the filtered results?

Thank you very much!

Code:
    cuff <- readCufflinks()
    gene.diff <- diffData(genes(cuff))
    filtered <- gene.diff[gene.diff$log2_fold_change > 1.5 & gene.diff$value_1 > 2,]
    value_1, value_2 and so on is your samples.

Comment

Originally posted by TiborNagy View Post
      Code:
      cuff <- readCufflinks()
      gene.diff <- diffData(genes(cuff))
      filtered <- gene.diff[gene.diff$log2_fold_change > 1.5 & gene.diff$value_1 > 2,]
      value_1, value_2 and so on is your samples.
      That worked! Thank you so much!

Comment

Quick question,
        If I have 6 conditions (C1-C6), with C1 being my control, do i type in "...gene.diff$ C1 > 2 ,3,4,5,6,]?

Comment

hi!
          this thread is the closest I've found to my issue ...

I have 2 conditions (a control and a treatment), each with 3 replicates. How can I do if I want to get those genes showing FPKM > 1, for each replicate, for control OR treatment?