No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Convert SAM to GFF

Hi,

Does anyone know of an easy way to convert files in the SAM format to GFF (or GFF3)?

I do RNA-seq and have my output from tophat that I'd like to visualize on gbrowse (v1.7), which as far as I can tell does not support SAM. I know I could upgrade to Gbrowse2, haven't got the courage just yet..

Any help is appreciated,
    Darwin

Do not try to use GFF for Next Gen sequencing data. You will melt your cpu into a smoking pile of ash. O.K. not really; truth is you browser will time out before GBrowse ever returns.

GBrowse 1.7 can use the Bio:B::SAM backend. See the poster at this link.

But really, make the switch to GBrowse 2.0. It is now very easy to install; you install both BioPerl 1.6 and GBrowse 2 through CPAN. Configuring multiple data sources for a single browser makes life much easier.

Comment

Thanks for the reply.

I'm a bench biologist just getting my toes wet on the command line and so prefer to keep it as uncomplicated as possible. But I think you're right that there's a shiny new GBrowse in my future.

Have you or anybody else installed GBrowse2 on OS 10.6 or would I need to set up a virtual ubuntu box? It took me *a while* to install GBrowse 1.7 on this system hence my hesitation to switch.

Comment

Originally posted by Darwin View Post
        Thanks for the reply. Have you or anybody else installed GBrowse2 on OS 10.6 or would I need to set up a virtual ubuntu box? It took me *a while* to install GBrowse 1.7 on this system hence my hesitation to switch.
        The more times you install BioPerl and GBrowse, the faster you get at it .

I have installed GBrowse on my Mac which is running 10.5. When installing on a Mac the thing to remember is that the standard locations for the web browser document and cgi-bin directories are different from the standard Linux locations. You will need to know these locations when you are configuring GBrowse on your Mac.