No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a genetic map from RAD-seq using OneMap

Dear all,

I have some RAD-seq data from 2 parents and 97 offsprings. I would like to use this data to cluster my genomic scaffolds into linkage groups. I'm new to handling RAD-seq data and I'm not sure if what I'm doing is correct.

For the moment I have done the following:
    - Quality Control of the RAD-seq reads
    - Demultiplexed the files
    - Mapped the RAD-seq reads to the genomic scaffolds (Bowtie2 + Samtools)
    - Ran the ref_map.pl pipeline of Stacks, specifying a "onemap" output from the program "genotypes"
    - Followed the tutorial step of OneMap (https://cran.r-project.org/web/packa...ed_version.pdf)

Now here is where things start not working: as I increase the LOD value, I get more linkage groups but I also increase the number of unlinked markers.

For example, with LOD=6, I get:
    > groups
    This is an object of class 'group'
    It was generated from the object "all.mark"

Criteria used to assign markers to groups:
    LOD = 6 , Maximum recombination fraction = 0.5

No. markers: 1342
    No. groups: 1
    No. linked markers: 901
    No. unlinked markers: 441

With LOD=20, I get:
    > groups
    It was generated from the object "all.mark"

LOD = 20 , Maximum recombination fraction = 0.5

No. markers: 1342
    No. groups: 9
    No. linked markers: 225
    No. unlinked markers: 1117

Is it normal to lose so many markers? What am I doing wrong?

Also some groups (with LOD=20), only have 2 markers which I guess is insufficient to have a good genetic map.

Any help or insight about building a genetic map using RAD-seq highly appreciated!

Cheers!

You could write your question to the Stacks Google group (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/stacks-users). Julian is pretty responsive.