Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Novel question---What's .qual file for?

Recently I got my sequencing data based on SOLiD system. For each sample I got two .csfasta files labled 1 and 2, and two .qual files corresponding to the csfasta file. Since I am quite new to this high throughput sequencing technology, I don't know how to use the .qual file for analysis. I know the .csfasta files contain the sequence data which are in color space format. I am able to convert the color space sequences to base space. So can i just use the csfasta file for the following analysis, such as trimming adaptor, alignment, and statistical analysis, without the .qual file?

And the two .csfasta files (1 and 2) can be pooled together for analysis?

Hope to get your help. Thank you in advance.

Hi harrike,
    I'll try to give you short answer to your vey long question.
    You should use the qual files in order to perform more reliable alignment (the quality of base will help you to decrease the false positive call).
    You probably would like to start by building FASTQ files from csfasta and qual files you got.
    I'm really suggesting you not to convert the color space to bases before alignment or assembly, only after alignment.
    Most probably you have paired reads; this is why you have two qual and two csfasta files.
    As a beginner in Next Gen please consider to play with your data in Galaxy:
    Galaxy is a community-driven web-based analysis platform for life science research.

Look for "NGS Toolbox Beta" and take a tutorial of SOLiD mapping.

This should help you better understand (in basic) how properly deal with your data.

Best,

Ilia

Comment

IIia,

Thank you for your reply. You answer is quite helpful to me.

Actually, my lab has bought the CLC workbench, which is not available to me now since I am out of the lab for a period. I just want to understand the data more before my analysis.