X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNA biotypes

Hello:

This is my first post.

I am a genetics student at UConn. I have Illumina RNA-Seq data and my PI wants me to determine the RNA distribution (tRNA%, rRNA%, snoRNA%). I already determined the miRNA content since we used miRDeep software.

I am thinking about Bowtie-ing our sequencing data to a reference genome, and then somehow checking it against this Ref Gene annotation file I got from UCSC. I am not sure how to interface the Bowtie output against the annotation file, however.

I am thinking about just writing a Perl script and using a loop to do this.

What do people think? Have others done this and does this seem like the right way to go about things?

Jim

Sounds reasonable to me. There are probably existing overlap scripts available. Eval might be worth trying.

Comment

Could try Tophat (bowtie backend but allows spliced reads to align). Then either count reads in your regions of interest or run Cufflinks with a GTF and use the output FPKM values to get the proportions of each RNA species.

Comment

I am working on Tophat. Do you know if Tophat maps normal reads inside exons as well as mapping exon-exon junction reads?

Then, looks like i will have to write a script to compare the Tophat output against a UCSC annotation file of RNA types (otherwise known as Ref Gene)

Comment

Tophat will map both reads that sit inside exons exlusively and those that cross exon-exon junctions. If you provide a GTF file to Cufflinks, program that generates expression estimates from tophat output, you can easily estimate the abundance of each RNA biotype as the RNA types are encoded in the GTF file. If you look at my intro thread (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthr...?t=4589&page=3 )you should see the workflow that will get you most of the way to your desired result.

Comment