No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to start

Hi All.

I'm a mathematician, hoping to do a PhD on the data-analysis (statistics) of NGS-data, at the university of Ghent (Roche / Illumina).
    Unfortunately, up to now, this has not been specified, so it is not yet clear to me what kind of data I will be presented with (ChiP, de novo,...)

This also implies that to this day, I have no data to work on, nor a clear sight on what will be expected.
    I've simply been reading up on NGS and statistics (finding strangely little articles linking them). Even more so, I am quite new at biotechnology, so it is not easy to get a focus.

So here's my question: I would like to prepare myself somewhat for when the 'real' questions come (I expect these in the range of the next few months), so I'd like to emulate some data-analysis. Do any of you have pointers on:
    * which type of analysis would be a good starter?
    * where could I find sample data (ideally with a matching article on how somebody else analysed it)?
    * what are the statistical challenges brought on by NGS (as opposed to classical sequencing), apart from sheer volume?
    * which 'general' statistical subjects would be a good read (books/subjects welcome), e.g.: would bootstrap do me any good (and why)?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

research topics for nextgen sequencing

The field of analysis of RNA-seq data is somewhat young... I think many people intend to use some of the statistics developed for microarrays to detect differential expression. Some data were presented in recent Nature Methods and Genome Research papers, and I believe some are posted at the short read archive. Furthermore, ABI is pretty open with sharing data from their research labs.

If you are open to combinatorial problems and not just statistics, there are some problems related to de novo fragment assembly that we could discuss.

cheers,
    -mark

Comment

Hello Mark,