No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ABySS input

Hello,
    I'm new to the bioinformatics side of life and started to use ABySS for allignement. I have however an input file which is not in FASTA format.
    For example the lines look like:

@HWI-EAS313_0005:1:1:1158:9100#0/1
    TCGATAGGCCGTGGACAGNGCTGACCGTAGGGGTGGGCTGNGNNNNNNTANGTACGTGNCTGGGTGTACCGAATANNCNT
    +HWI-EAS313_0005:1:1:1158:9100#0/1
    cbdddccddcece^c_ZbBb``b``cdddddcdad[`Vb^BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

with in the second line the sequence and in the fouth line the quality score.
    I wondered whether there is a command line with which ABySS could read this file (and therefore include the quality scores in the analysis as they are quite important) or whether it is easier to make a FASTA file from this txt file. In the latter case does anyone knows a quick way to do that?

Tanks

My AbySS readme states:
    "in specifies the input files to read, which may be in FASTA, FASTQ, qseq or export format and compressed with gz, bz2 or xz."

and since your data is fastq, you can pass it directly into AbySS.

So long

Comment

If I try to run ABYSS I get the next error:

error: Expected either `>' or `@' or 11 fields
      and saw `' and 1 fields near
      ??|Ms_7_sequence.txt?[?v?ʎ}??я?z?%yJ?.ža<I?T?T??H??4??툢?????

What should I do if my data are already in FASTQ?

Thanks

Comment

'??|MS_7_sequencetxt?' isn't fastaq - that looks more like a tarred & gziped file - try uncompressing it with tar -xf myfastq.tgz

Comment

Hi,

the fiel is a .txt.gz file. Abyss doesn't read the unzipped txt file and gives the abovementioned error if I use the .txt.gz file. I also tought that the extension of the file would be a problem...is there a way to convert the .txt file to a .fasta extension?

Thanks

Comment

There's a good chance the file extension is the whole problem - I don't know if Abyss just does file-extension detection or if it actually analysis the first few bytes.