Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• filtered_subreads.fastq contain multipass reads

Hello , I'm new to the Pacbio. I strated with the SMRT Portal to pre-process my raw h5 files, so I had to use the RS_Subreads.1 protocol to filter reads by quality, length etc..., but I noticed that the output filtered_subreads.fastq contain full multi pass reads (
    CCS) and partial ones.
    I know that I have to extract CCS reads for error correction , but my question, do multi pass reads affect the assembly results since they are duplicated ans Is it worth to remove them from the filtered_subreads.fastq before the assembly step.
    Many thanks.

If you want CCS reads then you should use "RS_ReadsOfInsert" protocol. Not a very logical name but that is what we have now.

Comment

Yes that's waht I expect to do. But is it worth to remove ccs reads and partial mutli pass reads from the fltered_subreads.fastq ?

Comment

Are you going to assemble outside of SMRTportal or are you planning to use HGAP within SMRTportal?

"CCS-like" reads (is probably the best term to use per PacBio) would give you the longest and best representation of that particular fragment.

Comment

Yes I plan to use HGAP within SMRTportal and may be also the CeleraAssembler but of course after processing the error correction of Pacbio reads by using CCS and illumina reads.

Comment

Yes I plan to use HGAP within SMRTportal and may be also the CeleraAssembler but of course after processing the error correction of Pacbio reads by using CCS and illumina reads.
            But how about multi (full and partial) pass in the filtered_subreads.fastq file generated by RS_Subread.1 protocol in the SMRT portal. do you suggest to remove these fragments from this file, as they are generally short, duplicated and with poor quality ?

Comment