No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [help] de novo Genome Assembly : beginner

Hi there.

I am completely new in the world of (de novo) genome assembly and I don't know what to begin with. When I asked help at the department they said "go to seqanswers", so here I am to have some help...

I have been given some sequencing data about an insect (colza pollen beetle) and have to make a genome assembly. This is Illumina data in paired-end format.

There are 3 fastq files :
    - lane 5/1 : 11 423 167 reads of length 76
    - lane 5/2 : 11 423 167 reads of length 76
    - lane 7 : 9 294 857 reads of length 152

An average beetle genome size is said to be about 650Mbp.

Apparently "we" have a server with 192GB RAM where SOAPdenovo is/will be installed.

I have been told to first control the sequences quality so after a few surfing I found "FASTQC" (with a good Youtube tutorial). I don't know what I have to do after... at all.

I am not here to ask you to do the job in my place & I know a will have a lot of reading & research, but i would know what is the main guide-line to follow, what are the things to mind about, the traps to prevent, etc.

Thank you in advance for any kind of help,

M.

(PS: accordingly to the FASTQC tutorial, data quality are quite poor, i can post output on demand)

Hey Meli,

The first thing would be to trim the primers/adapter/barcodes. I do this by mapping the know sequences (primers/adapter/barcodes) to the reads and then trimming them with a perl script or something like that.

Next would be to get the closest possible reference sequence (if know and/or available) and map your paired reads to them to filter out the good, the bad, and the ugly. If the reference is not known or close enough then it may be worthwhile to skip this step.