Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Illumina RNA-Seq Preparations

I'm just getting into RNA-Seq, and had a question about the library preparations for Illumina HiSeq. I know that Illumina sells a kit that will take the isolated mRNA samples and convert them to dsDNA during library preparation. However, I was wondering if anyone knows or has experience with using other kits (ie. Invitrogen) to convert the mRNA into dsDNA then do the library preparation for the Illumina. Any thoughts or advice on the subject would be very much appreciated.

Unless you need the strand information, go for the TruSeq RNA kit. It starts from total RNA (0.1-4 ug) and produces indexed libraries for about $70/sample in kit reagents. You need to buy some other reagents (eg Ampure). But we spend more than that just on ribo-depletion for other methods.

I thought maybe the ribo-depletion would not work that well. But first set of libraries we sequenced, it looks like rRNA reads are at most 2%.

There is an "A" and a "B" kit -- each with 6 adapters. This is really the only complaint I have with the kit:
    (1) For the "A" kit, one of the adapters, "AD03", I think, is the same as the multiplex phiX adapter. So, if you want to spike in 1% phiX into each lane instead of wasting 1/8th of your run on phiX, you have to skip samples with that index.
    (2) Why not just offer a 48 index kit? They have all the indexes for the small RNA kit. Irritating!

--
    Phillip

Comment

Originally posted by clostridium40 View Post