Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• custom PCR enrichment: how to know if it's good enough?

Hi, I'm new to next-gen sequencing and I'm trying to generate a TruSeq DNA library for sequencing on a MiSeq. My application requires a custom PCR enrichment step to pull out transposon-chromosome junctions, from which I'm starting from scratch and putting together my own protocol based on other previously published protocols - but it is necessarily different since the adapter sequences keep changing and the transposon is different. Basically, how do you know if the PCR is providing adequate and specific enrichment?

I started with 1 ug of genomic DNA and I am following the standard Illumina TruSeq workflow up to the PCR enrichment step. After gel extraction, two samples that I quantified on a Nanodrop had concentrations of 21.3 ng/uL and 16.8 ng/uL, respectively. This is about 50% yield from the original 1 ug input DNA, so I don't think this is too bad considering the large number of purification steps up to this point.