No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Library information needed for loading onto sequencer

Hi,

I was looking for some information from anyone running a core or sequencing service. If I had a prepped library, what information about it will you need before you load onto the sequencer from the customer? If it is just total RNA- what is the information you will need for library prep and sequencing.

Thank you.

1- Kit used for library prep
    2- Deviation from supplier recommended protocol
    3- Species or tissue
    4- Library index

Comment

Though most facilities will do their own QC (concentration, approx insert size) you could provide them with what you think are values for those two.

Comment

Thank you nuacidhunter and Genomax for your replies. I have never used a sequencer myself so am a novice here. I am trying to understand the necessary library parameters to be known when you load onto one lane vs libraries that go on different lanes. Are they the same? For example- I have 50 libraries that I want to load onto the same lane of a Hiseq so what parameters for them have to be same. I am assuming- size, conc, index, sequencing primers, made with the same kit, qc/pooled. Now we have a different set of 40 libraries that need to go onto another lane of the same sequencer for a sequencing run. What parameters need to be same here vs the different lane.
        I am trying to come up with a generalized information that would apply for a sequencing run for customers.
        Thank you.

Comment

You can pool any library in one lane or flow cell considering following:

1- Pool libraries in pM ratios based on required output, they do not have to be equimolar
          2- Libraries pooled in one lane should have compatible (color balanced) indices and good distance in sequence to avoid miss-assignments of reads
          3- Libraries with larger fragment sizes will have less read output if pooled with shorter libraries