No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New at RNA-seq

Hello Everyone,

I am new at RNA-seq, switching from the good old Genechip to this technology... We have very limited RNA input amounts to play with and since we've been happy with Nugen amplification system in the past, so we're planning on using the 3'DGE amplification kit.

My questions are in regard of Nugen's Encore NGS library prep kit. We're going to do single-end sequencing for differential gene expression analysis. We have a ref genome so we don't really care about gene coverage and such. In addition, I received a bit of conflicting advice about cDNA fragmentation, or the need to do it. Any thoughts on the matter?

thanks!

I think the beauty of the Encoure NGS kit for RNA Seq is that it can take fragmented RNA and create cDNA from it. So if this is the case then no cDNA fragmentation is necessary (perhaps size selection, but not fragmentation). However if your fragment sizes of cDNA are not ideal for your sequencing system (too big) then fragmentation is necessary.

I hope this helps with your question, but I wasn't terribly sure based on your post if this is what you meant!

~Jimmy

Comment

Thanks for your reply Jimmy! I realized after posting that my question was a bit unclear... sorry.

I think I will definitely have to reduce the size of the cDNA population to optimize cluster formation since the cDNA size range I get is ~100-1000nt, centered on 200nt. What do you think? (We'll be using Illumina.)

thanks!
      Julie

Comment