No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNAseq strand-specific vs.non strand-specific

Hi there 'RNA-sequers',

I am pretty new to this field and I would like to ask (something maybe basic) if anyone could please explain to me why you'd use a strand-specific protocol to build cDNA libraries out of total RNA instead of normal protocol (i.g., non strand specific one). I am struggling to see what are the benefits for using each, and definitely struggling to understand the biology foundation behind. I mean, you won't see more gene expression depending whether you use a strand specific protocol, right???.

My organism (petunia) does not have a reference genome, would a strand-specific protocol be a better fit???

Thanks very much!!.
    Gonzalo.

With a strand-specific method, you benefit from knowing whether the read originated from the + or - strand. This is particularly useful for finding unannotated genes and ncRNAs. On the negative side, I think it ends up costing a bit more. For those of us just looking for annotated differentially expressed genes in well annotated organisms (particularly mouse and human), strand-specific protocols may not be worth it.

If you're sequencing the genome as well and plan to use the RNAseq data to bolster gene-calling, you'd do well to use a strand-specific protocol. If not, and you're looking at differences due to environment/fertilizer/whatever then someone with experience in de novo assembly would need to chime in, since I have zero experience with that.

Comment

Originally posted by dpryan View Post
      On the negative side, I think it ends up costing a bit more.