Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowtie woes

Hello all. First, let me just introduce myself, as I am very new here (first post)
    My name is Austin, and I am a graduate student working on potato.
    I have recently had my favorite potato clone sequenced using illumina's paired end sequencing. It took forever to get back, but I have it now, and I'd like to get some work done.
    I am using bowtie to align the reads, but I am struggling to get anything to align.
    The biotech center that did the sequencing included a fastQC check, and as far as I can tell, everything looks good. (again, I'm very new, so I could easily miss something.)
    I've done some reading, searching, and pounding my head on my keyboard before posting this, but my searches were not infallible, and so I apologize if I missed the answer to this.
    I couldn't get the paired end alignment to work, so I tried each set of data individually, to see if perhaps I was not using the paired end details correctly, but I cannot get the single sets to align at all (0.00%)

My first question is about indexes: I downloaded the .fasta file from potatogenome.net, and used the bowtie-build command to create an index from it. However, I have no idea if it was done correctly, as I have no control to align to it. It looks fine, but I am just covering my bases.

I'm basically not using any of the options available in bowtie for my first run, as I just want to have a basic understanding of the functions, but here is my code that I have tried thus far with zero sucess:

paired end try:

./bowtie -S -p 2 potatoindex -1 /run346.C287-Reprep_NoIndex_L001_R1.fastq -2 run346.C287-Reprep_NoIndex_L001_R2.fastq c287alignment

no luck there.

single end try:

./bowtie -S -u 10 potatoindex sequence/run346.C287-Reprep_NoIndex_L001_R2.fastq