X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Explain Samtools like I am a 5 year old

Brief history
    Bioinformatics expertise: Novice
    Objective: Want to compile bam index files to view aligned reads in IGV.
    Starting materials: downloaded Perl, latest samtools, and have ~30 bam files ready and eager to visualize.

I am not a computer scientist. I have no intention of learning all there is to know about command line bioinformatics. Someone please give me a point-by-point explanation of how I go about generating bam index files all the way up from opening the correct terminal to executing the command. Every manual I have found about samtools assumes that I have some working knowledge of command line....I have none. Don't know how to proceed from opening a command terminal to building in samtools or assigning directories or anything.

Keep it simple--assume I am 5.

Did you already install samtools or just download the source code from sourceforge? Doing anything like this on windows, given your knowledge base, is going to daunting. You might just do the following:

1) Download this really old version of samtools for windows.
    2) Unzip the file and copy the .exe file to whereever you BAM files are.
    3) Open up Windows Explorer and navigate to wherever your BAM files and the samtools .exe file are.
    4) Right click on one of the BAM files and select "Copy address" (or maybe "Copy address as text", one of them should work).
    4) Click the start button/image and type "cmd" in the search box, click on the result.
    5) In the terminal, type "cd " (note, there is a space after the "cd" command)
    6) Paste the address that you copied in step 4 (you may have to go to Edit->paste).
    7) Delete the file name, you just need the path.
    8) For each file, type "samtools.exe index the_file_name.bam", where "the_file_name.bam" is obviously each file name.