No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mapping with botwie/bwa

Hello!
    I'm sorry for the stupid question, but I'm new in metagenomic and metatranscriptomic stuffs... I'd like to map my Hiseq shotgun metatranscriptomic reads to some reference genomes (I already know the microbial community composition, since I analysed 16S data), using botwie or bwa. The question is: do I have to map each sample to each genome? or is there a way to map to more genomes at the same time? And if not, how can I merge the multiple mapping files from the same sample, then?

Thanks a bunch
    Francesca

Originally posted by Francy87 View Post
    Hello!
    I'm sorry for the stupid question, but I'm new in metagenomic and metatranscriptomic stuffs... I'd like to map my Hiseq shotgun metatranscriptomic reads to some reference genomes (I already know the microbial community composition, since I analysed 16S data), using botwie or bwa. The question is: do I have to map each sample to each genome? or is there a way to map to more genomes at the same time? And if not, how can I merge the multiple mapping files from the same sample, then?

Thanks a bunch
    Francesca
    No you wont have to map them separately. Create a multi-fasta file of all your reference sequences and then build the mapping index from that.

Comment

Originally posted by jimmybee View Post
      No you wont have to map them separately. Create a multi-fasta file of all your reference sequences and then build the mapping index from that.

Hi Jimmy,
      Thanks for your reply. Can I just 'cat' all the reference genomes together or should I modify them in some way?
      Thanks again
      Francesca

Comment

Cat them together, then you use bowtie-build or bwa index to make the index. Then you align.

Comment

Originally posted by Francy87 View Post
          Hi Jimmy,
          Thanks for your reply. Can I just 'cat' all the reference genomes together or should I modify them in some way?