No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Visualizing with samtools?

Hi,

I have some difficulties in manipulating BWA and samtools.
    I have sorted my alignment stored in the .bam file, and indexed it (so I have a .bma and a .bam.bai).
    To visualize the sequences, I've tried to use commands like view or pileup, but I find it very difficult to manipulate.

Is there a way to view the alignment (I've tried IGV, but I haven't been able to see the reads, only the reference genome) user-friendlier?
    Or maybe I used the wrong input when using samtools...

Thanks in advance, I'm very new to bioinformatic...

Give Tablet a go - http://bioinf.scri.ac.uk/tablet

We've tried to make it as easy to use as possible (although there's always room for improvement, so if something doesn't make sense, just let us know).

Iain
    Our software: Tablet | Flapjack | Strudel | CurlyWhirly | TOPALi

Comment

I'll give it a try, thanks.

Comment

I have a few questions...
        It seems like the soft only take into account the reads that map with the part of genome in the area of the viewing bar. Can I change it so that all the reads that map with chr2, for example, could be counted even if the whole chr2 isn't displayed?
        Plus, reads are not always shown in the overview due to the scale... they are, as a consequence, difficult to locate. Is there some command to reach a read directly, avoiding me to manually search it? Or at least, maybe I can zoom in the overview so that i can locate a read more easily, have a look at it and then zoom out in the overview while keeping having the read aligned on the screen...?

I've read the user guide, but couldn't find those informations.
        Last edited by Adamo; 06-14-2010, 01:13 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by Adamo View Post
          I have a few questions...