Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using bowtie2 with min and max fragment fragment

I am pretty new to bioinformatics, and I was hoping that I could get some help with a bowtie2 script that I am putting together.

I am aligning ChIP-seq paired-end reads (2 samples: Input control and ChIP sample) to a reference and I want to include a minimum fragment size of 200bp and maximum fragment size of 600bp. A pseudocode version of my script is below.

/(path)/bowtie2 —I 200 —X 600 -x /(path)/genomeIndex -1 (chip/IN).fastq -2 (chip/IN).fastq -S alignment.sam

When I run this code, I get the error:

"Extra parameter(s) specified: "—I", "200", "—X", "600"
    Note that if <mates> files are specified using -1/-2, a <singles> file cannot
    also be specified. Please run bowtie separately for mates and singles.
    Error: Encountered internal Bowtie 2 exception (#1)"

and:

"(ERR): bowtie2-align exited with value 1"

I am not specifying any singles files, only mate pair files, so I am thoroughly confused. Any suggestions?

I think you have double dashes for '-I' and '-X'. They should be single dashes or the long name with double dash; e.g., '--minins' and '--maxins'. Take care of that problem first and then let us know if there are problems with '-1' and '-2'.

Comment

@westerman

Nope, they are single dashes in "-I" and "-X." For good measure, I also swapped "--minins" for "-I" and "--maxins" for "-X" and it still gave me the same error.

Thanks for the idea though.

Comment

Could you paste in the exact error you get when using '--minins' and '--maxins'

Also the results of 'bowtie2 --version'
        Last edited by westerman; 05-22-2015, 10:40 AM.

Comment

@westerman

Sure thing, it is below.

My code:
          /(path)/bowtie2 --minins 200 --maxins 600 -x /(path)/genomeIndex -1 (reads1).fastq -2 (reads2).fastq -S (alignment).sam

The error:
          Extra parameter(s) specified: "--minins", "200", "--maxins", "600"