No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HiSeq2000 adapter question

Hello all,

I have a question regarding Illumina adapters. I'm a grad student coming into a previously uncompleted de novo assembly project. The sequencing was done commercially over a year ago so I have limited access to the specifics of what was ordered. What I do know is that I have 24 million paired end reads of 100bp length each. From what I can tell just purusing the sequencing company's website is that they use a HiSeq2000, though I can't be 100% confident this is the machine used to generate my reads.

My question concerns the adapters and whether or not trimming is neccessary. My understanding is that sequencing of the DNA fragment begins after the adapter and so the only way to have actual adapter sequence in my reads is if the read length was greater than the fragment size and read into the adapter on the opposite end. Is this a correct assumption? Is this assumption valid for all Illumina machines (MiSeq, GA, etc).

Basically I'm just trying to figure out if I need to do any adapter trimming before attempting assembly. The FastQC report provided with my reads does not show any overrepresented sequence, though I don't know if the company used a TruSeq kit which I beleive are the adapters FastQC looks for. Any help / insight would be greatly appreciated.

If FASTQC report does not show any overrepresented sequences, you do not need adapter trimming. Anyway your assumption is correct. If you try to sequencing microRNAs, you get adapter sequences in every read.

Comment

Thanks for the reply... but would FastQC show overrepresented sequences even though a TruSeq kit wasn't used. I thought it only looked for certain adapter sequences, so if a kit was used that it didnt know what adapters were used it wouldnt be able to identify them.