No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adapter removal...

Hello,

First off I wanted to thank the seqanswers community for being a very valuable resource. I'm a graduate student new to NGS and have learned a ton from this community.

So my lab is attempting to assemble a fungal genome believed to be around 40Mb in size. We had our DNA sample sequenced commercially and received 24 million paired reads of high quality (according to the FastQC) report.

This is our first genome assembly project so we are going through a bit of a learning curve. My question concerns the adapters used in Illumina sequencing technology. The company used a HiSeq2000 to generate our reads. Do we need to remove the adapters from these reads before we attempt assembly? How would I know if the adapters are present in the reads? Just looking at them doesn't reveal a common sequence, and the FastQC report does not report any 'over represented' sequences. Is this enough evidence to conclude that the adapters are not present in the reads? Are they normally even included? Thanks in advance for your responses.

If FastQC couldn't find any adapters, they might had been trimmed for you. However, if you have a HCC, it doesn't hurt to trim them on your own just in case, since trimming is a pretty fast step. Also, you can filter out low quality reads while you are at it. Personally, I use Trimmomatic to do that.

Edit: if you received raw reads, yes, adapter sequences should be present in your reads. In this case, you will need to remove the adapters first.
    Last edited by shunyip; 01-16-2014, 07:32 PM. Reason: additional info

Comment

I'm assuming they are raw reads, but honestly I'm not sure... is it customary for commercial sequencing to trim the adapters they used off of the reads? The only thing that makes me think the adapters are already trimmed is that the FastQC report doesn't pick any up, which you would think it would.