No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• data format and how to analysis

Hi,

I am a complete newbie, so please bear with me if my question seems too silly.

I recently downloaded a RNAseq dataset from GEO, it contains paired data files, and in the following format:

readID Seq 0-mi**** 1-mi**** 2-mi**** chr start end strand
    HWUSI-EAS230-R:2:99:1151:1802#0/1 GAGCTCATTGGTGGCGTGGTGGCCTTGACCTTCCGG 1 0 0 chr10 70914936 70914971 -
    HWUSI-EAS230-R:2:44:642:495#0/1 TTGGCTGCCTTCTGGGGTGAACTTTCTGCTATTTCC 0 0 1 chr7 47298110 47298145 -

I googled around but could not figure out what format it is, and how to proceed to analyze. My goal is to produce gene expression values (RPKM) from these data files.

Thanks so much for your help.

It'd help if you mentioned the GEO accession number. They probably mention more about the format in the GEO entry. If nothing else, you could probably convert that to SAM/BAM format (the difficulty being whether or not the mappings are actually unique) and then calculate the RPKM. Alternatively, if they provide no further information (or the original fastq file), you could convert that to a multi-fasta file and then realign it.

Comment

Hi, Thanks a lot for your response. The dataset is GSE22260. I do not see any mentioning about the data formet, but maybe it is only because I do not know where to look. Could you also advise how to convert what I have to SAM/BAM format? or how to convert to multi-fasta files? I am fairly familiar with R, so I am hoping I will be able figure the later analysis after I have data in BAM format. Thanks again.

Comment

I believe that these are output from "Illumina Genome Analyzer Pipeline". I am not sure if there is a converter from this format to SAM/BAM. Multi-fastA would be trivial. Something like:

cut -f 1,2 file.name | sed -e 's/^/>/' -e 's/\t/\n' > output.file

or

perl -nale 'print ">$F[0]\n$F[1]"' file.name > output.file