Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aligning mRNA against Riken database

I am volunteering in a lab and have been tasked with analysis of some sequences of short mRNA fragments. In a previous life I was a programmer but I have no experience in bioinformatics so this is all new to me.

The plan is to use bowtie to align the cDNA fragments to the Riken mouse cDNA database. The problem is that when I look at that database (ftp://fantom.gsc.riken.jp/fantomdb/3.0/) it looks quite different from mRNA fragments that I download from the UCSC browser.

From the UCSC browser I can get sequences plus a table that has txStart/txEnd and cdsStart/cdsEnd, so I know which chromosome and where on the chromosome each fragment maps, and I know how long the 5' and 3' UTRs are. The Riken database doesn't seem to have that information. It occasionally has some cds location info, but generally not, and nothing about where the fragment maps onto the chromosome.

So my questions are, am I missing something about the Riken data that would make it more useful? If not I will try to assemble a set of non-overlapping sequences from the UCSC browser.

Second, is this a reasonable approach to analyzing short-reads from RNA-seq? Would it be better to use something like cufflinks to align against a full mouse genome?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Looking at that data, the reads don't look very short... They don't look like they are from a high-throughput sequencer.

For reads that long (and since you don't have many reads), your best best is probably to align them with BLAT. They should align pretty confidently.

EDIT: actually, sorry, they are already annotated... I'm not too familiar with this, you'll have to wait for someone else.
    Last edited by john_mu; 06-14-2010, 10:29 PM.
    SpliceMap: De novo detection of splice junctions from RNA-seq
    Download SpliceMap Comment here

Comment

Originally posted by john_mu View Post