No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Batch effect in Methylkit and SVA

Hello!

I have 6 RRBS samples that I am analyzing in MethylKit. After looking at the clustering and PCA plots it seems that there are batch effects. The 6 samples were done at 3 different times, each time one control and one case. The samples cluster according to these batches.

How can I remove the batch effects with SVA or other tools? I looked at the assocComp function and there were 3 PCA components that seemed to be correlated with batches at the 0.1 - 0.2 level. I don't trust that removing those 3 components removes just the batch effects.

SVA is recommended in the documentation, but I'm not an expert in R and I'm not sure how to use with MethylKit.

Did you ever figure this out? I'm in the same boat with batch effects.

I've seen other posts claiming people use SVA on logit transformed values, but I'm not sure how I would - or if I should - incorporate the SVA transformed data back into the methylKit workflow.

Comment

Radmeth

No I didn't. I moved my analysis to RADmeth/Methpipe. In RADmeth you can define covariates in the design matrix to take care of batch effects.

Comment

Thanks! That's really helpful. I'll check it out.

Comment

Example

Here's a clarifying text I got from the author of RADmeth (I had 15 samples in three batches):